Department of Political Science

About Department of Political Science


The Department of Political Science was started in 1942 with the aim to train students in the fundamentals of political science. The Department is recognized internationally for its excellence in the areas of Indian Politics, International Relations and Geopolitics. Ranked highly in terms of research, teaching interface, the department is served by the faculty of International repute. The department is one of the most active, vibrant and innovative centres in the discipline of political science in the country today. It has continually and systematically revised and updated its syllabi reflecting the changing concerns of the discipline and the emerging needs of society. It has been designated by the UGC as a Department of Special Assistance up to March, 2014. The Department has also been awarded Assistance for Strengthening of Infrastructure for Humanities and Social Sciences (ASHISS) for five years from 2006.

The Department invites distinguished visiting scholars and holds workshop and conferences under this programme. In additions, the Department also annually holds Shahid Bhagat Singh Memorial Lecture and Professor Pradeep Kumar Memorial Lecture.

The faculty has published extensively in the form of books, monographs, reports, articles, reviews, commentaries, perspectives and research papers in reputed journals. Some of the faculty members have also been on the editorial boards of the reputed international journals.


Enquiry No(s): 1800-180-2065, +91 172 2534818, 2534866 (from 9:30 am to 1:00 pm & 2:30 pm to 5:00 pm on working days including Saturday)

© 1997- 2019 - Panjab University, Chandigarh, India. Developed by: Computer Centre, Panjab University  |   Disclaimer FaceBook maxweb Twitter maxweb linkedin maxweb googleplus maxweb